CFAWL Awards Season

CFAWL is excited to announce that we are now accepting nominations for our CFAWL Member Awards: the Emerging Leader Award, the Distinguished Leader Award, and the Legacy Award. Descriptions are set forth below. If you know a CFAWL member who fits the description, please click here to submit your nomination!

Emerging Leader Award

This award recognizes a member within their first 5 years of practice who has exhibited excellence in leadership in CFAWL and the broader community. The recipient need not be a member of the board or leadership team. Good candidates are those who have positively affected CFAWL and have demonstrated that they are self-motivated and have the ability to motivate others. Past recipients include Lorraine Pitre, Anne Marie Williams, and Hazel Gumera.

Distinguished Leadership Award

This award recognizes a member who has been practicing for 5 to 15 years, and has shown exemplary leadership, service and commitment to CFAWL, its members, and its mission. Past recipients include Jamie Moses, Megan Malec, and Mary Walter.

Legacy Award

This award recognizes a member who has been practicing for more than 16 years and has demonstrated the highest levels of integrity, selflessness, leadership, service to CFAWL, and exceptional achievement in the legal profession and the community. Good candidates are those whose influence, ideals, and activities have left a lasting, positive impression on the organization and have raised the standard of excellence for future generations. Past recipients include Judge Margaret Schreiber, Ava Doppelt, and Judge Sally Kest.

This year, the Board of Directors voted to name the Legacy Award in honor, recognition, and remembrance of our first President, Carol E. Donahue, who passed away this year. We miss Carol dearly, strive to make her proud with our actions, and continue to send love to her family. If you knew Carol and would like to share your thoughts and memories, please contact President, Mary Walter.

Nominations are due by Monday, June 14, 2021, and winners will be recognized at a Garden Party/Toast to Us on June 29, 2021.